This Way, Alerts
Don’t Stand a Chance.
This Way, Alerts
Don’t Stand a Chance.

Compliance in Serialisation

The 2019 Falsified Medicines Directive (FMD) makes it clear: any suspicion of falsification must be addressed, and any falsification must be removed from distribution. In order to meet the strict requirements of the authorities, companies from the pharmaceutical industry must act GxP-compliant at all times. And that applies to every single FMD alert.

With Lean FMD and the Alert Guard, medAspis has developed an advanced service that prevents virtually all false alarms to the authorities and processes the remaining cases according to the rules.

Do you know what to do in case of an alert?

Falsification alerts arise in many day-to-day situations: e.g. packs are deactivated twice by mistake or goods are delivered that have already been deactivated. Depending on the scan volume, this can be hundreds of alerts per day. These cases of suspected falsification must be separated and, if necessary, manually checked and documented. That means a lot of work.

In addition, the authorities are always in the loop; they are automatically informed about every mistake and can still make critical enquiries 5 years from now. Do you have the right answers then?

How do critical FMD alerts arise in the first place?

Many everyday situations lead to alerts that may indicate a suspicion of counterfeiting. This happens much more often than you think:
  • Double deactivation by mistake: The error message in the case of self-inflicted double deactivation ends up directly with the authorities.
  • Goods already deactivated received from supplier: Call the supplier and the goods will be returned. But the authorities are aware.
  • Unknown 2D matrix code: The code on the pill box is not recognised. Not uploaded by the manufacturer or falsification? A case for the authorities.

Why do these cases jeopardise compliance?

An FMD alert message indicates that a counterfeit medicine has been found or a possible counterfeit is present. Every single suspected case must be investigated. In terms of quality assurance and compliance, the following two cases are particularly important:

Counterfeiters could print random serial numbers on packs. Alerts of this type can only be resolved with the support of the manufacturer.
Counterfeiters could print genuine serial numbers from old packs onto new packs. So packs that have already been deactivated carry a risk of counterfeiting.

Risky: insufficient compliance

FMD scans are part of everyday work in pharmaceutical distribution. But so far, hardly any precautions are taken to reduce the numerous FMD alert messages. Truly critical cases often get lost in the mass and are consequently not handled correctly.

Every single case is automatically reported to the authorities and debits your compliance account. Sooner or later, audits will take place – and the authorities will demand accountability for individual scans.

Lean FMD: keeping things running smoothly

medAspis has the entire FMD process perfectly under control. That’s why we enable not only extremely fast and efficient, but also virtually error-free processing.

With Lean FMD, virtually no more alert messages

The reason for the vast majority of false alarms is accidental multiple deactivations. medAspis Lean FMD identifies these and prevents almost all triggered false alarms. Our double scan filter reduces the number of alert messages to the NVMS that could trigger regulatory investigations to almost zero. Only the really critical cases remain.

For the worst case: so that everyone knows what to do

You can rely 100% on medAspis if an alert does occur. We provide all participants with exactly the information they need in their position. Clear, well structured, quality-assuring and productivity-promoting.

Instant scan stop in case of critical alerts. Our poster with clear handling instructions shows your employees: Is the alert critical? And what to do now?

medAspis provides supervisors with simple but precise explanations of all critical alerts: What are the next steps? What decision needs to be made now? What do the scanning staff need to know? All background information is easily accessible in our system.  
The pharmaceutically responsible person and the quality managers receive all documents from medAspis in order to align SOPs and work instructions in the quality manual exactly according to NVMS and officially required procedures.

medAspis Alert Guard: Our Zero Alert Commitment

Despite all the training and well-intentioned advice, we know from experience that the scanning staff cannot always be relied upon and that suspected counterfeits are often lost in the day-to-day operations.

Handle critical cases professionally

Our Alert Monitor ensures that no suspected counterfeiting case is being overseen. Automatically, the medAspis Alert Team will be informed immediately if you experience any critical cases. Then we take over and clarify the case. If necessary, we will involve your company or the manufacturer.

In principle, medicine packs suspected of being counterfeit must be quarantined and must not remain in circulation. Because the next scan definitely leads to the same alert. The pack comes back and causes even more trouble.

Continuous Improvements

In order to systematically exclude more and more alert cases in the future, we are monitoring the findings of our alert team very closely. On this basis, we can help to optimise work processes and eliminate further sources of alerts in close consultation with you.

medAspis Alert Guard

Support for all difficult cases: With our Alert Guard programme, the medAspis Alert Guard team is at your side with competence, experience and solution orientation.

Lean FMD & Alert Guard:
Compliance advantages at a glance

  • Less risk: Lean FMD is the best solution to meet your compliance and quality assurance requirements.
  • Lean FMD can be fully integrated into your workflows.
  • Lean FMD reduces costs and staff time for handling suspicious cases.
  • Careless errors during scanning are effectively prevented.
  • FMD false alarms to authorities are reduced to almost zero.
  • During audits, all questions from the authorities can be comprehensively clarified. Every scan and every alert handling is documented.
  • Concentrate fully on your core business – and don’t waste your valuable time on the side show FMD.
  • With Lean FMD, you can sustainably optimise your FMD processes.

medAspis: Your 360° FMD Partner

With efficient scanning, a reduction of false alarms to almost zero and takeover of critical cases, medAspis is your 360° partner for FMD. With our service you reduce the amount of false alarms to the authorities to almost zero. We take care of all the rest. With Lean FMD, you can be sure that you are taking the best possible compliance and quality assurance measures at this moment.

medAspis Hotline

Questions about FMD or Lean FMD? Just call or text us.

Contact form
Your Quick Contact to medAspis

So haben Fehler
keine Chance.
So haben Fehler
keine Chance.

Compliance in der Serialisierung

Die Fälschungsschutzrichtlinie für Arzneimittel (FMD) von 2019 stellt klar: Jeder Fälschungsverdacht muss behandelt werden, jede Fälschung muss aus dem Verkehr gezogen werden. Um die strengen Vorgaben der Behörden zu erfüllen, müssen Unternehmen aus der Pharma-Branche jederzeit GxP-konform handeln. Und das betrifft jeden einzelnen FMD-Fehler.

Mit Lean FMD und dem Alert Guard hat medAspis einen fortschrittlichen Service entwickelt, mit dem praktisch alle Fehlalarme an die Behörden verhindert und die übrigen Fälle regelgerecht bearbeitet werden.

Wissen Sie, was im Falle eines Fehlers zu tun ist?

In vielen alltäglichen Situationen entstehen Fälschungswarnungen: z.B. werden Packungen aus Versehen doppelt deaktiviert oder es wird bereits deaktivierte Ware angeliefert. Je nach Scan-Aufkommen können das Hunderte Fehler pro Tag sein. Diese Fälle von Fälschungsverdacht müssen separiert und gegebenenfalls manuell überprüft und dokumentiert werden. Das bedeutet viel Arbeit.

Außerdem sind die Behörden immer im Bild; sie werden automatisch über jeden Fehler informiert und können auch noch in 5 Jahren kritisch nachfragen. Haben Sie dann die richtigen Antworten parat?

Wie entstehen kritische FMD-Fehler überhaupt?

Viele alltägliche Situationen erzeugen Fehler, die auf einen Fälschungsverdacht hinweisen können. Das passiert viel häufiger, als man denkt:
  • Doppelte Deaktivierung aus Versehen: Die Fehlermeldung bei selbst verursachter doppelter Deaktivierung landet direkt bei den Behörden.
  • Bereits deaktivierte Ware vom Lieferanten erhalten: Anruf beim Lieferanten und die Ware wird zurückgeschickt. Aber die Behörden sind informiert.​
  • Unbekannter 2D Matrixcode: Der Code auf der Schachtel wird nicht erkannt. Vom Hersteller nicht hochgeladen oder Fälschung? Ein Fall für die Behörden.​

Warum gefährden diese Fälle die Compliance?

Eine FMD-Fehlermeldung weist darauf hin, dass ein gefälschtes Medikament gefunden wurde oder eine mögliche Fälschung vorliegt. Jeder einzelne Verdachtsfall muss untersucht werden. In Sachen Qualitätssicherung und Compliance sind vor allem die beiden folgenden Fälle wichtig:

Fälscher könnten zufällige Seriennummern auf Packungen drucken. Alarme dieser Art können nur mit Unterstützung des Herstellers behoben werden.
Fälscher könnten echte Seriennummern von alten Packungen auf neue Packungen drucken. Also bergen bereits deaktivierte Packungen ein Fälschungsrisiko.

Riskant: unzureichende Compliance

FMD-Scans gehören in der Pharmadistribution zur alltäglichen Arbeit. Doch bisher werden kaum Vorkehrungen getroffen, die zahlreichen FMD-Fehlermeldungen zu reduzieren. Wirklich kritische Fälle gehen in der Masse oft unter und werden infolgedessen nicht korrekt bearbeitet.

Jeder einzelne Fall wird automatisch an die Behörden gemeldet und belastet Ihr Compliance-Konto. Über kurz oder lang werden Audits stattfinden – und die Behörden verlangen Rechenschaft über einzelne Scans.  

Lean FMD: damit alles reibungslos läuft

medAspis hat den gesamten FMD-Prozess perfekt im Griff. Deshalb ermöglichen wir nicht nur eine extrem schnelle und effiziente, sondern auch eine nahezu fehlerfreie Verarbeitung.

Mit Lean FMD so gut wie keine Fehlermeldungen mehr

Der Grund für den allergrößten Teil der Fehlalarme sind versehentliche mehrfache Deaktivierungen. medAspis Lean FMD identifiziert diese und unterdrückt nahezu alle ausgelösten Fehlalarme. Unser Doppel-Scan-Filter reduziert die Anzahl der Fehlermeldungen ans NVMS, die behördliche Untersuchungen auslösen könnten, auf fast null. Übrig bleiben nur die wirklich kritischen Fälle.

Im Fall der Fälle: Damit jeder weiß, was zu tun ist

Auf medAspis ist zu 100% Verlass, falls doch mal ein Fehler auftaucht. Wir stellen allen Beteiligten genau die Infos zur Verfügung, die sie für ihre Position benötigen. Übersichtlich, klar formuliert, qualitätssichernd und produktivitätsfördernd.

Blitzschneller Scan-Stop bei kritischen Fehlern. Unser Poster mit klaren Handlungsanweisungen zeigt Ihren Mitarbeitern: Ist der Fehler kritisch? Und was ist jetzt zu tun?

medAspis stellt Vorgesetzten einfache, aber präzise Erläuterungen zu allen kritischen Fehlern zur Verfügung: Was sind die nächsten Schritte? Welche Entscheidung muss jetzt getroffen werden? Was muss das Scan-Personal wissen? Alle Hintergrundinfos sind leichtverständlich in unserem System hinterlegt.  
Die pharmazeutisch verantwortliche Person und die Qualitätsbeauftragten erhalten von medAspis alle Unterlagen, um SOPs und Arbeitsanweisungen im Qualitätshandbuch exakt nach NVMS- und behördlich geforderten Prozeduren auszurichten.

medAspis Alert Guard: unser Null-Fehler Programm

Trotz aller Schulung und gutgemeinten Hinweisen wissen wir aus Erfahrung: Auf das Scan-Personal ist nicht immer Verlass und Fälschungsverdachtsfälle gehen im Tagesbetrieb oft unter. 

Kritische Fälle professionell bearbeiten

Unser Alert Monitor stellt sicher, dass kein Fälschungsverdachtsfall übersehen wird. Das medAspis Alert Team wird automatisch sofort informiert, sollten bei Ihnen kritische Fälle auftreten. Dann übernehmen wir und klären den Fall. Falls nötig, schalten wir Ihr Unternehmen oder den Hersteller ein.

Grundsätzlich müssen Medikamentenpackungen, die unter Fälschungsverdacht stehen, in Quarantäne und dürfen nicht in Verkehr bleiben. Denn der nächste Scan führt definitiv zum gleichen Fehler. Die Packung kommt zurück und verursacht noch mehr Ärger.

Kontinuierliche Verbesserungen

Um für die Zukunft immer mehr Fehlerfälle systematisch auszuschließen, beobachten wir sehr genau die Erkenntnisse unseres Alert Teams. Auf dieser Basis können wir in enger Abstimmung mit Ihnen helfen, Arbeitsabläufe zu optimieren und weitere Fehlerquellen auszuschließen.

medAspis Alert Guard

Hilfe bei allen schwierigen Fällen: Mit unserem Alert Guard Programm steht Ihnen das medAspis Alert Guard Team mit Kompetenz, Erfahrung und Lösungsorientierung zur Seite. 

Lean FMD & Alert Guard:
Compliance Vorteile auf einen Blick

  • Weniger Risiko: Lean FMD ist die optimale Lösung, um Ihre Anforderungen an Compliance und Qualitätssicherung zu erfüllen.
  • Lean FMD lässt sich vollumfänglich in Ihre Workflows integrieren.
  • Lean FMD reduziert Kosten und Personalaufwand für die Bearbeitung von Verdachtsfällen.
  • Flüchtigkeitsfehler beim Scannen werden effektiv verhindert.
  • FMD Fehlalarme an Behörden reduzieren sich auf fast null.
  • Bei Audits lassen sich alle Fragen der Behörden umfassend klären. Jeder Scan und jede Fehlerbehandlung sind dokumentiert.
  • Konzentrieren sich voll auf Ihr Kerngeschäft – und verschwenden Sie nicht Ihre wertvolle Zeit auf dem Nebenschauplatz FMD.
  • Mit Lean FMD optimieren Sie nachhaltig Ihre FMD-Prozesse. 

medAspis: Ihr 360° FMD Partner

Mit effizientem Scannen, auf fast null reduzierten Fehlalarmen und der Fall-Übernahme in kritischen Fällen ist medAspis Ihr 360° Partner für FMD. Mit unserem Service senken Sie die Menge der Fehlalarme an die Behörden nahezu auf null. Um alle anderen kümmern wir uns. Mit Lean FMD haben Sie die Sicherheit, die aktuell bestmöglichen Maßnahmen zu Compliance und Qualitätssicherung zu ergreifen.

medAspis Hotline

Fragen zu FMD oder Lean FMD? Einfach anrufen oder schreiben.

Kontaktformular
Ihr schneller Kontakt zu medAspis